November 08, 2018

Tata Power bags 'gold' and 'best project from India' awards at the International Convention on Quality Control Circles 2018 Awards

Team Utkarsha, Team Prerana and Team Tejas receive the prestigious gold awards and Team Utkarsha also receive ‘Best Project Presented from India” award in a ceremony held in Singapore

Mumbai, Pune, Delhi, Jamshedpur: Tata Power, India’s largest integrated private power utility, took centerstage at the recently held International Convention on Quality Control Circles (ICQCC) 2018 by bagging three gold awards in innovation and quality control circles. The three quality circle teams a) Utkarsha from Trombay, b) Prerana from distribution and c) Tejas from Jojobera were bestowed with the most prestigious gold awards for their projects.

A grand convention, the award ceremony, was held at Sentosa, Singapore, that witnessed the participation of around 430 teams from 13 countries. India had the largest delegation with 190 teams represented by 780 members. Tata Power was represented in the event by three teams, one each from Trombay, DNMG City Zone, and Jojobera divisions. Utkarsha QC team from Trombay coal logistics and plant was also awarded the prestigious and coveted ‘The Best Project from India’ award, which was conferred by the president of the Singapore Productivity Association in a glittering ceremony.

Speaking on the achievement, Praveer Sinha, CEO and managing director, Tata Power, said, “We are privileged to receive this prestigious honour from the ICQCC since it exhibits our commitment towards creating and developing cutting-edge trends and projects that will help us contribute to the growth of the Indian power industry.”

The ICQCC focuses on innovation and quality control circles as timeless tools for organisations seeking to achieve excellence. In recognition of this, since 1976, a group of 13 regional economies, including Singapore, has been taking turns to host the ICQCC. The other 12 regional economies include: Bangladesh, China, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Japan, Korea, Malaysia, Philippines, Sri Lanka, Taiwan and Thailand.